Figment Fate Contest: Do You Believe in Fate?

“We can’t choose our fate, but we can choose others. Be careful in knowing that.”
–J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Do you believe in Fate?

Is there such a thing as true destiny? In celebration of Lanie Bross’ new book, Fates, coming out on February 11, 2014, we at Figment would like to start the year off right with a new contest!

Prompt

In 400 words or fewer, write a story about Fate and tag your story with FigmentFate. You have until 11:59 p.m. ET on Friday, January 31 to enter your story.

Prizes

Figment editors will be reading all the entries. Ten winners will be chosen to not only be featured on the Figment homepage and newsletter, but will also win an advanced reader’s copy of Lanie Bross’ new book, Fates.

How to enter

1. Read the full rules.
2. Create an account on Figment.com.
3. Start a new writing of 400 words or less.
4. Tag your writing FigmentFate on the Details tab.
5. Enter your response by the deadline listed in the prompt.
6. Press “Publish Now.”
7. You should receive a pop-up confirmation of your entry, and in about two hours or so, your piece should appear among the submissions.

About the book

Fates – Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational.

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

Please note: The comment box below is only for questions about how to enter this contest or other logistical issues. For comments, thoughts, suggestions, complaints about the contest system, please visit our Contest Input forum. To find someone to read your story, try the Contest Promotion forum.

35 thoughts on “Figment Fate Contest: Do You Believe in Fate?

  1. Hi,

    I published my entry, but did not receive a pop up notification. I was wondering if there was another way to see if I have been successfully entered in this, the Figment Fate, contest.

    Chebk

  2. It’s not against the rules to edit your entry before the deadline after its already posted, right? Like once you’ve received feedback from other figgies?

  3. I submitted my piece for the Fate Contest, but I am a little worried since it’s been several hours and I have not seen it among the other submissions. Is there just a backlog or should I attempt to resubmit?

  4. Could the word count deadline be extended to maybe 900 words? There is absolutely no way to get in a good story line and character description in 400 words or less.
    Sincerely, a concerned figger xoxo

  5. I just put a piece of writing for the figmentfate contest and wondering if it made the deadline and was tagged correctly.

  6. Hi. I was wondering if we submitted something into this figmentfate contest, how long until we know the results? And where should we check for that update?

    (Also, is the answer the same for most any contest?)

    Thank you!
    ~Rae

  7. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this site is genuineky nicee and the visiotors are in fact
    sharing nice thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *